Home    Subscribe    Write for Us    FAQ    Contact    HubGarden    Login

Different 'Twelve Days Of Christmas' Books

by Catherine Van Bergen (follow)
Fiction (372)      Children's Books (93)      Christmas (34)      Picture Story (29)      Illustrations (24)     


The Twelve Days Of Aussie Christmas – Colin Buchanan (Illustrated by Glen Singleton)



You can’t get a more Australian version of this classic story, with swaggies, rusty utes, meat trays, footy fans and jumbucks (as well as plenty of other stereotypes) all featuring in this rendition. Featuring amusing and clever illustrations, this picture story book is sure to keep children entertained, as they search for over 150 Aussie items throughout the book, and sing along with the accompanying music CD.

Rating: 4/5
Published: October 2017

The Twelve Days Of Christmas – Illustrated by Anna Wright



Scottish illustrator Anna Wright has put her own creative spin on this classic Christmas carol, by incorporating her passion for animals and nature into this book. Featuring beautiful illustrations of birds, insects and animals, she uses a unique combination of pen, ink, watercolour and collage to create a timeless collection of artwork that celebrates the sentiments of this popular song.

Rating: 3/5
Published: October 2017


The 12 Sleighs Of Christmas – Sherri Duskey Rinker (Illustrated by Jake Parker)



Even though the title suggests that this picture book could be in the same league as the above books, this one doesn’t have anything to do with the beloved Christmas carol. Instead, this picture story book is perfect for those who love turbo-charged, high octane, souped-up automobiles (or their sleigh equivalents!). When the elf mechanics realise that Santa’s sleigh is looking a little worse for wear, they decide to hold a competition to see who can build the best and fastest new sleigh, with Santa in charge of judging the winner. What follows is a creative, very high-energy romp to see who can make the most awesome toy-delivering vehicle.

Featuring a fantastic rhyming story and clever illustrations, this book is sure to become a firm favourite with the mechanically-minded, and those who appreciate their vehicles with a little bit of added modification.

Rating: 4.5/5
Published: November 2017

Adam Spencer’s 12 Days Of Christmas! – Adam Spencer (Illustrated by Roy Chen)



Following on the popularity of Adam Spencer’s mathematical/number-themed books, this picture story book takes on the popular Christmas carol and its relation to his favourite subject. While many of the ‘gifts’ are as we know them from the carol, some have been tweaked (either in words, or illustrations) to have a more Australian feel. A couple of examples include the golden rings (which resemble Burger Rings chips) and the swans (wearing AFL footy guernseys). As the pages grow more crowded by the end of the song, Spencer decides to add up just how many gifts he received from his good mate…

This is a fun book which celebrates the traditional carol and adds a bit of Australian charm to the mix. Fans of Adam Spencer and his numbers games will
enjoy this Christmas countdown.

Rating: 3.5/5
Published: November 2017


The 12 Days Of Christmas – Illustrated by Pilgrim Lee



This board book version doesn’t have the repetition of the traditional carol, instead only featuring each number once on a double page spread, along with the gifts that were given. The illustrations are drawn in Pilgrim Lee’s distinctive graphic style, with bold outlines, bright colours and a somewhat 60's vibe. This book somehow manages to be both simple and complex at the same time (with limited text on one page but detailed illustrations on the other) and would be perfect for fans of Pilgrim Lee’s colourful yet nostalgic artwork.

Rating: 3.5/5
Published: November 2017


#Fiction
#Children's Books
#Picture Story
#Illustrations
#Christmas
I like this Article - 1
More Articles by Catherine Van Bergen
view all articles by Catherine Van Bergen
Articles by Catherine Van Bergen on Other Hubs
Sometimes it can be difficult to teach children about saving money, especially if they have their mi...
12 likes
ID: 91413
[ Submit a Comment ]
Trending Articles
Categories
Fiction (372)
Question (194)
Writing (22)
Comics (46)
Poetry (16)
Essay (8)
Humour (83)
Fantasy (68)
Romance (25)
Lesbian (15)
LGBT (13)
Zombies (11)
Sex (2)
Gay (2)
Food (2)
Myth (1)
Action (1)
 
Copyright 2012-2018 OatLabs ABN 18113479226. mobile version